Patient Testimonials

I would recommend Dr. Blume again and again and again!

Bristol, CT | Aug 15, 2017

I would recommend Dr. Blume again and again and again! I am forever grateful to him saving my mother’s leg. His knowledge and experience is superb and he is a very kind, gentle man. My mother ignored a wound on her leg and one local doctor wanted to amputate. My mother was referred to Dr. Blume and that referral literally saved her life. If my mother lost her leg, it would have been the beginning of the end for her. Please don’t waste your time with anyone but Dr. Blume.

now five years later I can walk

David in Milford, CT | Jul 31, 2017

I was being treated by a Milford Hospital at their wound care center for about twelve months prior to a wound care physician referring me to Dr. Blume. He re-attached my left foot to my leg, removed the gangrene from my left leg, he caused a Dr. Mena from the Yale hospital to carry out several interventions by using stents and balloons, opened up arteries to both lower legs. Dr. Blume removed parts of both feet and now five years later I can walk with the use of a cane. Dr. Blume is great. Blume removed parts of both feet and now five years later I can walk with the use of a cane. Dr. Blume is great.

 I am walking, thanks to him!

Cheshire, CT | Jul 21, 2017

I had a car accident and resulted in multiple fractures in my right ankle. My first surgeon wanted me to wear orthotics when I told him I was still having so much pain in my foot becoming non-weight bearing and put a chair lift in my house for the stairs, and use a wheel chair. I knew I had to get another opinion and was referred to Dr. Blume from a family member. Dr. Blume is a highly skilled doctor and surgeon. I am still going through physical therapy, but now I am walking, thanks to him!

My only regret is that I did not have Dr. Blume do my first surgery.

Submitted July 20, 2017

I had multiple fractures in my right ankle as the result of an auto accident in September, 2015. My first surgery left me in constant pain, from an orthopedist whom I wished I had never gone to. I thought I would always have this pain, I was referred to Dr. Blume through my daughter in law’s Podiatrist. After I had x-rays taken of my foot, he told me that my ankle was stepped, and I would always have pain unless I had it fused. I had my surgery with Dr. Blume in December, 2016. My only regret is that I did not have Dr. Blume do my first surgery. I don’t think I have ever met such a compassionate, knowledgeable, and down to earth doctor as Dr. Blume, who took the time to explain every step of the way and x-rays with myself and my husband. I am still going to physical therapy and not quite pain free yet, but I am walking, going up and down stairs, as result of his good judgement and expertise. I would recommend Dr. Peter A. Blume to other people.

any traces of infection are now gone

Submitted June 3, 2017

After a failed foot surgery 8 years ago which left me with an intractable wound on the sole of my right foot which could not be healed despite multiple attempts by wound specialists/clinics over many years, I ended up with a very serious infection which necessitated my hospitalization. I was subsequently referred to Dr. Peter Blume of New Haven, CT and upon my first visit with Dr. Blume, he was able to assess the nature and severity of my infection and within less than half an hour of my visit, he had me admitted to Yale New Haven hospital and scheduled for surgery. Dr. Blume then went on to perform surgery to remove infected portions of bones from my foot, prescribe essential antibiotics to treat my infection, and set up VNA visits to assist and monitor the healing process. After only a few months and less than a handful of follow up visits with Dr. Blume, a wound that had significantly impeded my ambulation and the quality of my life, is now fully healed and any traces of infection are now gone. Dr. Blume’s efforts on my behalf and his thoughtful and compassionate treatment of my condition are gratefully appreciated by myself and my family. I would not hesitate to recommend him to other patients with similar injuries/wounds. The care he rendered was exceptional and the outcome was better than I could have hoped for.

Dr Blume is definitely worth seeing.

Diane in Milford, CT | May 06, 2017

Excellent experience. I would definitely recommend Dr Blume. His staff is also very helpful and professional. Also worth mentioning Shoreline Surgical where Dr Blume performs his surgeries. From the moment I walked in I was treated with a friendly older gentleman at the desk. He kindly told me where to go and wished me good luck. Experience with nurses was great and the place is immaculate. Dr Blume is definitely worth seeing.

 

my recovery was awesome.

Submitted April 16, 2017

The soft mass in the tarsal tunnel area of my foot was misdiagnosed for 17 years. Finally found a podiatrist that referred me to Dr Blume. Within minutes he reviewed my chart, my scan and my ankle and made an accurate diagnosis. He explained what it was, that he had just done the same surgery a couple of weeks prior, he gave me my options, was honest and upfront about the possible outcome, and referred me over to have nerve testing done prior to surgery. On the day of the surgery they called me to come in earlier because he was ahead of schedule, the surgi center was amazing, clean and well run, and my recovery was awesome. I totally trusted him within minutes of meeting him. For me this was hands down one of my best decisions. I am so grateful to him for his experience and care.

Love this doctor

Stratford, CT | Apr 16, 2017

Dr Blume is an exceptional doctor. He is knowledgeable, to the point, readily available at his office & after surgery. Love this doctor. I had surgery that involved a nerve. He knew exactly what my diagnosis was, he explained it to me in terms I could understand, he explained the surgery & my options. In fact, he had done this same surgery a couple weeks before so was very familiar with it. This after many years of mis diagnosis and being told I would have nerve damage.

I am walking again

Vincent  in Wilton, CT | Feb 17, 2017

I do not have the words to describe my gratitude to DR Blume and his staff for saving my leg and most likely saving my life .We found the vascular group at Yale after we were told by our surgeon in Norwalk that they had done all that could be done for me and the next step would be amputation of my right leg .DR Orion did the vascular surgery needed to restore circulation to my leg and Dr Blume amputated my big toe. After months of excellent follow up care from DR Blume I am walking again.

 

I couldn’t have asked for a better doctor.

Edward in Easton, CT | Jun 24, 2016

Dr. Blume was very informative and had a great bedside manner. Everyone from the office staff to the surgical center staff were wonderful. I couldn’t have asked for a better doctor.

 

Caring and compassionate manner.

Nick M in Orange, CT | May 05, 2016

Excellent in diagnosing problems. Caring and compassionate manner.

 

He deserves more than the 5 stars of excellence.

Anthony C. in North Haven, CT | Jan 17, 2016

I honestly cannot imagine a 3.5 overall rating for Dr. Blume. He deserves more than the 5 stars of excellence. He operated on my husband and made it comfortable and easy. During all the visits prior to and following the surgery….he was kind, considerate and gentle. East to speak with and a ‘regular’ guy….although everyone knows he’s gifted and certainly not a ‘regular’ guy. I would always recommend him to anyone who has need of his expertise.

 

I recommend him often.

Nancy P in Woodbridge, CT | Jan 16, 2016

He is outstanding, caring, tireless, skilled. I recommend him often.

I trust no one else with my feet.

Paul in Stratford, CT | Dec 29, 2015

I have used Dr Blume for all my foot problems and he has taken great care of them all. From Plantar fasciitis, to reconstruction of me big toe after degeneration. I was still able to run and play softball in my 50’s with zero pain or restrictions. I trust no one else with my feet.

Thanks, Doc!

5 out of 5 stars
Reviewer: George GrandeMarch 23, 2012
Doctor Seen:Dr. Peter Blume, D.P.M, F.A.C.F.A.S.

Location:New Haven.

Thanks, Doc! We always knew you had a “leg up” on everyone else!

With a heart-felt thank you…

5 out of 5 stars
Reviewer: Deb and Ian MoyeDecember 8, 2011
Doctor Seen:Dr. Peter Blume, D.P.M, F.A.C.F.A.S.

Location:New Haven.

With a heartfelt thank you, we are so grateful for your generosity, kindness, and devotion to all of us…May God continue to bless you abundantly as you service humanity with your podiatric gifts…

Thank you for your exceptional care..

5 out of 5 stars
Reviewer: Alice SimonMarch 1, 2011
Doctor Seen:Dr. Peter Blume, D.P.M, F.A.C.F.A.S.

Location:New Haven.

I wanted to let you know how grateful I am for the exceptional care you provided for my husband…He lived at home and had a reasonably good quality of life, thanks in part to your excellent care. I believe that our last years together would not have been possible without your caring and kindness.

You have done so much for the region…

5 out of 5 stars
Reviewer: Connie EvansMay 1, 2011
Doctor Seen:Dr. Peter Blume, D.P.M, F.A.C.F.A.S.

Location:New Haven.

I write to extend congratulations to you on your selection as a 2011 Health Care Hero by the New Haven Chamber! What an incredible honor, and so well deserved. You and Alyssa have both done so much for the patients and families of the region. it could not have gone to a better role model in the community. Enjoy this honor, and, again, congratulations!

Thank you for all your healing care…

5 out of 5 stars
Reviewer: Sally SmithwoodMay 25, 2011
Doctor Seen:Dr. Peter Blume, D.P.M, F.A.C.F.A.S.

Location:New Haven.

I feel it is most important to thank you for all your healing care…I appreciate you and all you have done for me for many years. you are the best of doctors and I plan to return to you.

Thank you very much for the incredible surgery!

5 out of 5 stars
Reviewer: Suzanne CassaraAugust 14, 2011
Doctor Seen:Dr. Peter Blume, D.P.M, F.A.C.F.A.S.

Location:New Haven.

Thank you so much for the incredible surgery you performed on my foot, and for all the care you gave me throughout. I’m truly grateful to you and also your staff for being treated so professionally and with the utmost respect and patience. I’m so appreciative and beyond pleased with the results.

Thank you for all your hard work!

5 out of 5 stars
Reviewer: Maryanne HuefordJuly 10, 2010
Doctor Seen:Dr. Peter Blume, D.P.M, F.A.C.F.A.S.

Location:New Haven.

Thank you for all your good work and hard work!